When is a resignation not a resignation?

I’m not a cynical man, however I must question the motive of Nigal Farage’s “resignation“. With much fanfare he announced that if he wasn’t returned as MP for South Thanet then he would resign. He even prophecied this in his book ‘The Purple Revolution’ where he says,

“Was [sic] I supposed to brief Ukip policy from the Westminster Arms? No – if I fail to win South Thanet, it is curtains for me. I will have to step down.”

 And also,

It is frankly just not credible for me to continue to lead the party without a Westminster seat.”

And as expected, on Friday he announced that he was going to resign from the leadership of UKIP. Ok, not so much a resignation but he announced his forthcoming summer holiday;

“Now, I said as this campaign went on that if I didn’t win I would stand down as leader of Ukip. I know that you in the media are used to party leaders making endless promises that they don’t actually keep, but I’m a man of my word, I don’t break my word, so I shall be writing to the Ukip national executive in a few minutes saying that I am standing down as leader of Ukip.”

However, he went on to say;

“There will be a leadership election for the next leader of Ukip in September and I will consider over the course of this summer whether to put my name forward to do that job again.”

It wasn’t therefore a resignation but a way to make himself look like a principled politician who follows through with his promises.  Unlike the other leaders who actually took the principled position of resigning. Like a bad smell, Farage is now back as leader, after what can be described as the shortest retirement in political history. The party “refused” to accept the resignation so after three days he is back. After all, who will BBC Newsnight  have on each week without him?

This only goes to show that UKIP really is nothing without Farage’s cult of personality.

Leave a Reply

